Archive | 4:30 pm

CYLC: Day 1 Challenge 1

28 Nov

CYLC

Today is Day #1 of Challenge #1. Let’s see if I can do this. I’m pretty optimistic!

challenge #1 - vegan/vegitarian

My choice:
Vegetarian, but of the pesco-vegetarian area. I feel like it would be way too expensive to do shopping for me & then shopping for my husband. So I will be going the pesco-vegetarian route. He loves fish anyway.

Day 1 Meal Plan:
Breakfast will consist of banana nut cheerios with blueberry yogurt & a banana. Morning drinks, as always, will be orange juice & coffee with Sugar & Spice creamer.

Moving on to Lunch, I’ll be having grilled cheese using Mozzarella & Romano cheeses instead of traditional American. Citrus Green Tea with this, please.

For Dinner, my grandparent’s want to go to Middendorf’s to celebrate their anniversary with their children/grandchildren/great-grandchildren. This restaurant, no lie, is the best seafood in the whole world. It’s likely that as an appetizer, my mother & I will split the Marinated Crab Fingers with Remoulade. My main dish will be Middendorf’s Special Thin Fried Catfish (small platter) with a side of french fries & hush puppies. If I can fit it into my stomach, which I never can BTW, I would adore some of their delicious White Chocolate Pecan Pie. YUMYUMYUM.

If I get the nibbles in between meals, I have pre-cut celery sticks with ranch dressing and pre-cut Colby Jack cheese cubes that are dying to be eaten. (:

One Step Further:
In addition to participating in this challenge, I will also be challenging myself to go for a 30-60 min walk every other day with Jasper.

Can’t wait to read everyone else’s blogs who are participating! This is sure to get interesting!

Your Health Care = In Your Hands.

28 Nov

Personally, if I have to ask my doctor a million questions to get an explanation of the tests he/she plans on running then I think it’s time for a new doctor. This is especially true if he/she attempts to give me the run-around by giving vague & non-specific answers.

I fully believe that any doctor planning to do any tests, for whatever reason on any patient, needs to fully explain these tests to their patients. I mean, you went to medical school. Before that you were normal & used normal not-so-gigantic words. I’m pretty sure you can find a way in your head to explain to me why you feel “problem x” may be related to “area a” and not “area b” as previously discussed.

Unfortunately, not all doctor’s are this awesome. So then whose fault is it when a patient goes in expecting “area a” to be examined and is shocked when “area b” is examined also or instead? I could blame the doctor or the technician who didn’t bother to explain. It is partially their fault. But ultimately, our health care is in our hands when we choose a doctor. If we allow someone to give us the run around or to just straight out not answer us, then we allow these things to happen.

I believe in finding a doctor who will explain my procedures & tests in full before they are done, to explain to me what he/she is looking for, and to give me an idea of possible diagnosis & a possible course of action. It is OK to doctor shop (no, not as in HEY I CAME HERE FOR PAIN KILLERS + 5 OTHER CLINICS) & to find the doctor that works best for you. It is OK to get a second opinion if you think your diagnosis is off or incorrect. And lastly, even after all the explaining is done you need to be comfortable asking questions if there is more you want to know or something you don’t understand. You aren’t badgering them! This is YOUR HEALTH we’re talking about. And trust me, as a receptionist, I would rather you badger the doctor than to call days later and say “DOCTOR X DIDN’T TELL ME THIS WAS PART OF THE PROCEDURE!” You will just piss me off.

[/end rant]