Fried Ravioli a la Stacey

18 Dec

So back when a group of us SG’s did the 1st Change Your Life Challenge, Stacey over at Every Little Thing posted her recipe for Toasted St Louis Raviolis.

I am ALWAYS looking for new recipes, because my husband is hard to please. He really doesn’t like to try new things & can be pretty picky. So, today, we ventured into the word of Ravioli. I tweeked the recipe, so that I could use thing we had in the kitchen already (if you look at Stacey’s recipe vs mine she uses different bread crumbs, & used garlic powder, whereas I used paprika).

The results? SO GOOD. Hubby said it was “pretty good”, which is saying a lot coming from him. If he doesn’t like something, he’ll take two bites & put it down. But he actually ate it ALL this time. SCORE! Below is my recipe, and I’ll include a link to the original recipe at Stacey’s blog at the very end of my post. (:

Fried Ravioli

Ingredients
1 package of 4 Cheese Ravioli
1 cup mixed shredded Italian cheese. I used Parm & Romano.
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk
2 cups Progresso Italian-style Bread Crumbs
1 tbsp Paprika
Olive Oil, for frying
EVOO, for drizzling
1 Jar Classico Spicy Fire Roasted Tomato Sauce

Measurements are fluid, depending on the flavor you are going for & also for how many raviolis you’ll be making. Also, you can use any type of ravioli (such as meat filled, or spinach & cheese), cheese (think Asiago, Mozz, etc), bread crumbs, & seasoning. I just used what I already had on hand. Also, in the picture below you’ll see a cup with angel hair pasta noodles in it. This is because I wasn’t sure if JUST the ravioli would be ok with my husband, so I wanted it on hand just in case.

Ingredients

First step was to boil my raviolis. The packaging said to boil for 7-9 minutes, but I didn’t want them to be overcooked once fried so instead I boiled them for 4 minutes. While the raviolis were boiling, I did three things. 1. I set up my frying station by mixing my eggs & my milk in one bowl, & my shredded cheese, breadcrumbs, & paprika in another. 2. I fixed my salad we would be eating before the raviolis. 3. Preheated the olive oil so it would be ready for frying.

Boiling Raviolis

Frying Station

After the raviolis were done, I drained them & drizzled with EVOO to prevent sticking. (As suggested by Stacey). I then went to my frying station & dipped them in my milk/egg mixture & then coated them with the bread crumb mixture.

Coated raviolis

Now it was time to fry. So, into the olive oil the raviolis went. While they were taking their time cooking, I poured my tomato sauce into a small sauce pan to heat it. The only thing I wish I had was a deep fryer. It would have taken much less time to fry more at one time, as opposed to the 6-10 I was able to in our skillet.

Frying Raviolis

I let the raviolis cooks for two minutes on each side, or until golden brown on each side. Then I used a slotted spoon to scoop them out of the oil & into a bowl lined with paper towels (to soak up the extra oil).

Cooked Raviolis

By this time, my sauce was heated so it was time to eat! Unfortunately, it was at that exact moment that I got a random craving for Coca-Cola (which I rarely get, I try to stay away from soft drinks). Good thing we live 2.5 seconds away from a gas station. We left the sauce on simmer, and put the raviolis in the microwave while we ran down there to pick up my Coke. When we got back, the raviolis had cooled just enough to eat & the sauce temp was perfect! This trip took a grand total of 5-7 minutes, just for reference. Below is the finished product + my salad, which was comprised of romaine lettuce, cucumbers, & bacon bits. In my bowl I added shredded carrots, shredded Romano cheese, & spicy Ranch dressing. Hubs had his with Italian dressing.

Finished Raviolis with Sauce!

Salad

The whole process time took about 30-45 minutes, mostly because I could only fry a small amount of ravioli at a time. I assume it would have taken roughly 20 minutes if I had the deep fryer instead.

Also, I have a solution to Stacey’s “getting your hands dirty”. If you look at my photos, my frying station with the bread crumbs was in a tupperware bowl. If you put your bread crumb mixture in a tupperware bowl with a top, you could use a slotted spoon to move raviolis from the milk/egg mixture to the bread crumbs, put the lid on, & shake. Use another slotted spoon to move from bread crumb mixture to your frying oil. (:

Here is the link to Stacey’s original recipe. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Fried Ravioli a la Stacey”

  1. Stacy @ Every Little Thing 19 December, 2010 at 12:44 am #

    Glad it worked out well for you! Great tip about using the tupperware top for shaking.

    The nice thing about the recipe is that you can really use quite a variety of ingredients and toppings! It spices up plain old ravioli for sure.

    Glad you (and hubs) liked it 🙂

    • candiedpixie 19 December, 2010 at 10:58 am #

      🙂 Thank you for the awesome recipe!

      We do a lot of frying in the South, so anything to make it less messy is definitely a help!

Leave a Reply

